Skip to content


Björn Tyrefors Hinnerich


Research Institute of Industrial Economics (IFN)

Grevgatan 34, Box 55665,

SE-102 15 Stockholm, Sweden

Phone: +46-(0)8-665 45 00





Department of Economics

Stockholm University

106-91 Stockholm

Phone: +46-8-16 20 00,



Björn Tyrefors Hinnerich, is a researcher Research Institute of Industrial Economics (IFN) and partly at the Department of Economics at Stockholm University. He received his PhD from the Stockholm School of Economics in December 2007.  His research areas of interest are in Political and Labor Economics and Applied Econometrics. His dissertation work focused on how institutions shape policy using quasi-experimental methods.  He is currently working on projects dealing with political economics, discrimination, education and economics of crime.

Selected publications

The impact of upper-secondary voucher school attendance on student achievment. Swedish evidence using external and internal evaluations (WP-version). (with Jonas Vlachos). Labour Economics,  Volume 47, August 2017, Pages 1-14

Democracy, Redistribution, and Political Participation: Evidence from Sweden 1919-1938. (with Per Pettersson-Lidbom) Econometrica, 82, pp.961-993. 2014,  (WP-version)

Are Boys Discriminated in Swedish High Schools ?  (with Erik Höglin and Magnus Johannesson.) Economics of Education Review, 30, pp. 682–690, 2011.  (WP-version)

Do Merging Local Governments Free Ride on Their Counterparts When Facing Boundary Reform. Journal of Public Economics, 93 , pp. 721-728, 2009


New Working Papers

Gender Quotas in the Board Room and Firm Performance: Evidence from a Credible Threat in Sweden. (With Joakim Jansson)

Revisiting the Housing Wealth Effect: Evidence From an Unanticipated Renewal of an Airport Contract. (With Dany Kessel and Roine Vestman)

Do Mild Sentences Deter Crime? Evidence using a Regression-Discontinuity Design. (with Mikael Priks and Per Pettersson-Lidbom)

Age-Dependent Sentences and Crime Bunching – Empirical Evidences from Swedish Administrative Data. (with Mikael Priks and Mårten Palme)